Welcome.

Church Services.

Bible Readings.

Life Events.

Parish Diary.

Parish News.

Forest Church.

Environmental.

Vision/Action.

Contacts/Links.

This site is hosted by VARiHOST       www.varihost.net
The Parish of
Swaledale with  Arkengarthdale
The Yorkshire dialect can be traced back to invaders who crossed the North Sea in the Fifth Century and who left behind a rich language full of words that had Norse and Danish origins.

Dales people had a particularly dialect-filled speech that included both verbs and nouns peculiar to the district in which they lived.

Here are just a few examples:

Skep
basket

Tup
male sheep

Laithe
barn

Gripe
muck-fork

Dowly
sad

Nithered
cold, shivery

Twined
to be upset

Thoil
to begrudge

Wick
lively

Sneck
Door-catch;

Slape
slippery

and.......

T’ardest wark is doin’ nowt.      
Tha’s nithered and twined...

August

Saturday 1 August, 10.00-4.00pm – Woolly Day at St. Andrew’s, Grinton

Spinning, weaving, crafts, refreshments etc. All welcome.

 

Saturday 8 August, 10.30am – Grinton Conservation Group – in the churchyard. All welcome.

 

Friday 14 August – Parish Cake Stall on Reeth Market

 

Friday 21 August – Bric-a-Brac stall in aid of St. Andrew’s, Grinton

 

Friday 28 August, 7.30pm – St Mary's Muker Wine Party at Muker Village Hall.

Entry is £6 to include wine, supper and Muker Silver Band.

Contact 886202 or 886116 for tickets, or pay on the door.

 

Monday 31 August – Reeth Show Day

 

September

Tuesday 1 September, 7.30pm – Standing Committee at The Vicarage

 

Wednesday 2 September – Muker Show Day

 

Saturday 5 September, 3.00pm – Reeth Band Concert at St. Andrew’s, Grinton, in aid of The British Heart Foundation and Cancer Research UK.

 

Friday 11 September – Parish Cake Stall, run by St. Mary’s, Arkengarthdale

 

Saturday 12 September, 10.30am – Grinton Conservation Group – in the churchyard.

All welcome.

 

Tuesday 15 September, 7.30pm – PCC meeting at Fremington Sunday School

 

Saturday 26 Sept – St. Andrew’s, Grinton - Flowers/cleaning day for Harvest.

All are welcome to come and give a hand.